Gritter

Hi guys, I’m quite new to this forum and driving i suppose (only 8 years experience) and would like some help just to reassure myself.
I’m a Plant Operator/Driver working for a contractor to the MOD. My company is contracted to grit/plough the roads on the troop training area.
Until I started working for them they didn’t have a clue about drivers hours and the other driver that works there has always worked for the MOD which are Tacho/Drivers hours exempt. We have a restricted O license (carriage of our goods only) which I’m told doesn’t require us to have a CPC qualified transport manager so one of the pen pushers in the office is doing it ( you can imagine how well that works!!!)
They have always done a 7 day week on week off standby for gritting duties that is until i started when i informed them that its illegal. We are required to start at 5.30am-8am Morning run. Then do our normal 8 hour working day. Then 4.30pm-8pm evening run. The only exemption we have is if it snows its classed as an emergency so we will be tacho exempt for the period of the snow clearance.

This is what i want reassurance on : 1- I have said that we cannot drive 7 straight days (common sense)
2- If either driver has a day off during the week e.g Work mon-tue,wed-off,will be Ok to work thurs-sun ?
3- Either driver cannot do more than 2 of the above shifts in 1 week as will be over duty time, but can do morning run then go home (rest) until start of evening run? 4- After 6 days working ( driving & other work) a 45 hour rest is needed?

Hope I’m making sense.
Thank you in advance and look forward to your replies.
Rich

Hi there have a look here it my guide you to the right answers, sorry i can’t give you more help but hope this will

gov.uk/drivers-hours/gb-domestic-rules

Hi, thanks for your reply but we run to EU regs not GB domestic. There lays my problem

you need to ask 2 questions

1/ are you exempt due to military armed forces status = no rules apply