Grain tipping advice needed

hi all, after getting the news on monday i was to be made redundant from my tipping job (quarrys) ive managed to land a new job today which will be mainly bulk tipping grain, wheat etc. Ive got plenty of tipping experience but one thing ive never had anything to do with is grain. not sure on the procedure for tipping it to be honest except that its tipped through the grain hatch! the new boss is aware of this and im sure training will be given but id like to get the general gist of it before i start work there so i dont look like a complete novice! so any advice,tips or just an idiots guide to tipping grain would be appreciated :smiley:

Big problem is seepage through the tailgate - especially if it’s a bit knocked about. Get a big dob of grease off the spring shackles (if air suspension, find some where you can - maybe 5th wheel if artic) and seal round the tailgate. Messy but works.

Cover up well. I know you will in this weather, but grain gets everywhere and makes you itch like mad.

Make sure you’re well sheeted before you go anywhere. Grain flies like you wouldn’t believe!

You now know more than I did when I started - so good luck with it.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

generally there will be a sock that attaches to the grain hatch and you will tip into a hopper about a foot off the ground, someplaces it will just look like a big drain in the ground. some people think working the hatch up and down makes you tip quicker, as it allows constant flow, others say just open it up and let the belts underground do it. if you have done tipper work before it’l be easy, like said before just sheet up, and expect a 40 to 60 mins wait as it empties, and even longer at harvest time when you are in a queue for ages at the grain driers!