Got an attitude driver,you will wait

waddy640:

ERFMarc:
Better not tell anyone on here what my day job is when I’m not playing with old examples of Sandbach’s finest then! It’s not TP or any of the nationals though so does that make it better?

So how about the story from the other side (but with a bit of driver’s experience thrown in)?

I always try to make sure delivering vehicles are offloaded as soon as possible but if one of our wagons is waiting to be loaded he gets sorted out first, they earn us the money and it’s part of my job to make sure they make the maximum profit. Once he goes past 8 hours its time and a half and a gentle question from management as to why the overtime is so high.

It’s quite interesting how some drivers treat you as just another yard guy, rather than someone who is sympathetic to their cause. I always manage to refrain from shouting back at them “it’s only 15 minutes, I’ve spent four hours at Tesco Chepstow before.”
However turning up at lunchtime when your deliver note says “no deliveries between 12 & 2” then complaining about a forkie trying to offload you and serve customers doesn’t get much sympathy from me.

As regards to serving the customer first it’s logical really . Sadly the driver has no choice but to visit us, whereas the customer can get fed up of waiting and take his money somewhere else (and in Fengate, Peterborough there are about 5 more places!).

I just know that I am going to get a TNUK member turn up on Monday now, tin helmet is ready!

Better planning might help solve some of these problems. What is the point in booking a tip for 8am, when every builder and his dog are getting their bits for the day. They are never going to get them the night before so it will always be a problem.

I always park up outside, if possible, and find out where they want me. It saves a lot of hassle.