Got a job but must go self employed

Hi folks went for interview today for a job, advertisement said 15 - 20 per hour. During interview was told its £10 an hour to drive 7.5 ton but the odd day I will have to drive an 18.5 ton and will get £15 per hour for that. I cannot drive the 18.5 ton every day as there is not a need for it to be on the road everyday which is a bit of a bummer but oh well.

The company said I have to go self employed in order to work for them which I thought a bit strange is this normal? or is that just a way of getting around having to guarantee me hours as it seems to be a small enough company but are expanding and are looking at getting more 18.5 ton trucks on the road according to the guy in the interview

I am keen to get a start as I have no experience thus far, only getting my CPC mod 4 last Thur so I am keen to get miles under my belt but don’t want to be taken for a mug either. Agency work doesn’t seem to pay great at the all having spoke to a few today and some agencies wont even entertain me as I have no experience.

Opinions and advice??

Thanks
Owen.

I’ll do it if you don’t want to :laughing:

Working for a company on a self employed basis isn’t something I know much about, apart from the fact that I’ve never wanted to do it :slight_smile:

I think you may get more replies from people who know what they’re talking about if you ask in the PDF rather than the new drivers forum.

If you work for a company, you cannot be “self employed”. It’s clearly a contradiction. The legal definition used to refer to a “servant/master” relationship. Don’t know if that’s been updated. The reason they want to do it is to avoid paying holiday pay and employer’s National Insurance. You could be self employed if you are working for more than one company and if you have the right to pick and choose the work you want to do.

Be extremely careful. If HMRC got interested, they will be looking for the tax and insurance that hasn’t been paid.