Getting the tug

With all the people on here going on about WTD, infringements etc and trying not to incur the wrath of DVSA, it got me wondering just how often people get pulled by them, if certain types of work are more likely to get the tug or in certain areas of the country.
I’ve been driving for 6 years, doing ADR work nationwide for 5 years, and have only been pulled once, and even that was because I was in a hired unit that my boss hadn’t registered on his O-Licence.
So, how often have you been pulled?
Where were you when DVSA went on the pull?
And what sort of work is more/less likely to get pulled?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

In England…

I’ve been stopped twice in 40+ years of driving. Once at Beattock summit on my way south and once just on the outskirts of Nottingham whilst on a night shift.

In Europe I’d guestimate I was stopped on 25% of all my journeys. Some you could tell they weren’t interested in foreign motors and had pulled you by mistake. Others where they went through everything including my briefcase and dirty laundry.

I’d nominate Ford Transit vans with wooden greedy boards and piles of scrap for getting pulled the most. After that, anything from around the old commie block areas.

running on northern ireland or paddy plates then every vosa station thats open is like a convention/truck show for tangs.
if your running a hooked up scania or anything on analogue then you are guaranteed to be on first name terms in all the popular checkpoints if theres any ferry traffic.
the one saving grace is that similar to your normal bean counting traffic plod,then they always think they can catch you because they are smarter…the easy option is to let them keep thinking that and then theres no worries.
:wink:

Owner driver in 80s early 90s…, quite often.
Driving Dutch and Belgian regd trucks …most weeks in UK… :unamused:
Last 10 yrs on UK only firm…twice.

Certain firms are targeted, so it depends who you work for.