Getting experience :-(

Hi all I’m curious if anyone has any pointers to the problem of having no experience for driving LGV vehicles,
I have only passed both tests within a short period of time, having not gained any experience in driving this type of vehicles at all.
I went for a driving assessment with a local company after a friend who works there got me a application form on the understanding that they knew I had just passed my tests which they said would be ok as long as I was a safe driver!!!