Getting a CDL in the states

Hello,
I’m looking to move to the states inside the next 12 months. I know i have to obtain this CDL but im not sure where to begin.
I’m a class one driver here in the UK, but i know this means nothing over there, apart from showing i have experience.
Could anyone tell me the best way to go about eg. Costs,recommendations etc.
Good info would be much appreciated.
Cheers.

over to you mister hasler ,I think

I have looked at this recently as I am in California.

Basically (states aren’t all the same rules)…

• you need a drivers license, you’ll have to take a written and practical car test.
  • you need to pass the medical before you can even take the written test for CDL.
  • California has separate tests for things like airbrakes (I didn’t get as far as finding out if this is covered in a class A [artic/CE] license.
  • a lot of companies here will sponsor - ie pay for your training if you agree to work for them for a set period. I have seen 8 months to 2 years.
  • driving schools I have seen charge anywhere fro $2000 - $10000 for the course.
  • seem to be (at least locally) that will take on newly qualified drivers.
  • a lot of companies pay per mile. I’ve seen between $0.34 and $0.78 advertised.
  • you can take the A test straight away - no need for the ‘rigid’ test first.

I found a job with a tow truck company and my basic C ‘car’ license covers me up to 26000lbs GWV, I kind of wish I had taken the interview for the CDL training but like coming home every night.

Oh and unless you have the right to a green card or work permit stop looking now. I have a varied work and qualification history - paramedic, UK cat C, commercial helicopter pilot, UK MCA captain’s license and none of them transfer without basically starting at the bottom all over again. Even my pilot’s license that is USA issued by the FAA wasn’t enough to secure me a work permit.

Good luck.

W.

PS I can spell but licence is licenSe here! :wink: