Fuel tanker driver shortage

We have all seen the queues at petrol stations, and all of the ones that have ran dry of fuel. The government have been quick to blame this on the shortage of drivers, lumping it in with the shortages in the rest of the industry.
I worked as a fuel tanker driver for a few years until last June, and I have had several friends and family asking me if I would go back to it.
The truth is, I would consider it if the right job was there, however around my area in the North West, there is currently only one full-time position available, working for Hoyer out of Bramhall terminal near Stockport.
Surely a driver shortage should mean loads of vacancies? But even when speaking to friends who are still in the job they say there are no empty vehicles, certainly no more than 12 months ago.
None of this really comes as a surprise though, as fuel tanker drivers have never really had any incentive to leave the industry. They have always been relatively well paid and worked fewer hours when compared to drivers in most other sectors. And, in my part of the country at least, it was extremely rare to find drivers who were non-British, so it’s not even like Brexit or people going home because of Covid will have had any substantial effect.
Is it the same across the country, or could it actually be true in some areas that there is a driver shortage?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Terry Cooksey:
We have all seen the queues at petrol stations, and all of the ones that have ran dry of fuel. The government have been quick to blame this on the shortage of drivers, lumping it in with the shortages in the rest of the industry.
I worked as a fuel tanker driver for a few years until last June, and I have had several friends and family asking me if I would go back to it.