Frustrated and fed up

At the start of the year I took my Class 2 and passed OK. I got a job with the Co-op to work at weekends and school holidays (I’m a teacher) and I’ve really enjoyed it so I thought I’d take my Class 1 to see if I could get any better paid work that was a little less arduous to unload. To that end I spent £1000 at the end of July to get my Class 1 and failed it. Fair enough. Nerves got the better of me so I messed up the reverse and that was it, though the examiner said that other than a little undue hesitancy, the driving was fine. Encouraged by this positive feedback I invested another £400 and took it again yesterday. The reverse was perfect, the uncoupling was perfect and the drive went really well. I’ve honestly never driven the truck better but on the way back to the test centre he suddenly deviated from one of the normal test routes and asked me to turn into an incredibly tight junction I’d never even seen before. The wheel of the trailer hit the kerb on the island in the middle of the junction and that was it. Failed again on just one junction. When we got back to the test centre (Grimsby) my instructor commented that she’d received a call from another driving school to they’d seen me out on test but were surprised to see me not on one of the known routes. Apparently my examiner isn’t at Grimsby much and has only been there 5 times in the last 9 years so maybe he took me the wrong way. Earlier in the test he’d asked me to follow signs for ‘A46 Lincoln’ and when I went to turn right he asked me where I thought I was going but I pointed out that the sign clearly stated that that the A46 to Lincoln was a right hand turn. He agreed and told me to go further on instead. Three sets of traffic lights later we eventually found the junction he was meaning!