Forced night out, ok or not?

Hi, i work as a tramper, i do a set amount of nights out per week and go home tuesday nights, every week. however, during the jubilee week tuesday was a bank holiday for some, and not for others (strange company policy, i was told i had to work, others had to have the day off), however, towards the end of the day i realised i would not be able to do my deliveries and then drive back to base due to me being loaded late and being held up at one of my deliveries. i called the office at 1630 to notify them that it wasnt looking good for me to finish at 1830 as the 15hr rule would then be exceeded. i was quite happy for them to arrange to pick me up etc as i was just looking forward to a nice night in my own bed after eating some cooked food. i eventually managed to get hold of someone by calling their mobile because they had all gone home early! when i told them i was going to run out of hours they then said i would have to do a night out, i refused, i said i had not planned for an extra night out, i did not have extra clean clothes, any extra food, or any amount of money on me as i budget for my usual week, plus, the industrial estate i would be stopping in has nowhere near by that i could buy any food from even if i DID have the cash. after MANY phone calls it was established that i HAD to have a night out, i was NOT allowed to return to base as the freight needed to be delivered, and i was NOT allowed to leave the truck in a layby and get my mrs to take me home. i was not happy with this but was beyond trying to argue at this point, so i agreed, begrudgingly, to have a night out in Bristol, provided my mrs could drive to me, then take me somewhere to eat, and then i would be reimbursed the next day. so, she drives down (from cinderford, NOT local! its 50 miles each way) and takes me to the local mcdonalds and we have some food. I decide that due to me blocking off the opposite side of the road to an entrance to part of the industrial est