Foot in the door.

Hi there,

Im currently in the process of doing my C class driver training and want to carry on and train for a CE. (Im new to this so descriptions might be wrong)
I am looking for long term career in haulauge. Although i know there are jobs out there to apply for, i would like to know any information as to recruitment websites, agencies, or any other relevent information that would help a new comer like myself. Are companys less likely to take a driver on at a young age, or are there still oppertunities. What would be your advise to someone new starting out, and the process of going about things?

Many thanks for any information

Ben :smiley:

Things out there have not been good for quite some time - so there’s a good number of experienced drivers looking for work. Having said that, there is evidence that things are starting to look up and that newly qualified drivers are possibly getting more than their fair share of job offers. This could be for a couple of reasons: the employer can “mould” a new driver to that company’s way of doing things and it has to be said that the new driver maybe comes cheaper.
As far as age goes, that’s always been a barrier but it’s been overcome by many. There’s been loads of threads on here about getting work. The general opinion seems to be to visit companies personally, present a well put together cv and be ready to start work instantly. You may just walk in to their office as another driver has rung in sick. If you can go that minute, you’re ahead of the agency. That could lead to regular work if you make a good job of it.
If really desperate, offer to work for nothing as second man while you learn the ropes.
Above all, persist and don’t give up because you get knockbacks.
Good luck :laughing: :laughing:

. :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: Welcome Ben R.S :smiley: :smiley: :smiley: .