Flash floods & devastation - Boscastle, Cornwall

Yesterday, the old fishing port of Boscastle was subject to sheer devastation, when a 10ft wave rushed through the village destroying everything in its path.

I have been fortunate, to have spent nearly 2yrs doing kerbside collections in Boscastle and made a lot of ‘work related’ friends, both in the residential and business sector.

Boscastle has been described as “no longer in exsistence”, shops are destroyed, homes washed away and up to 100 cars/vans washed out to sea.

Up to this thread being posted, there has been no fatalities, although there is 15 people unaccounted for. My local division of St.John Ambulance (of which I am a Divisional Officer) were called out last night to assist other emergency services, unfortunately, I was away, but kept informed.

I would like to take this time to say “My sincere thoughts go out to all the residents & visitors of Boscastle and a big thank you to all emergency services and the army, who are now involved”

I will post any up-dates I receive.

Thank you

John

i could not believe my eyes when this came on the news last night,devastation is not the word to describe this.it is good news that no one has lost there lives and i hope that the 15 people un accounted for a found safe and well.please pass on my sympathes to all concerned and i know that the emergency services will be doing there best to help the locals out.it is at times like this when all differences are put to one side and puts things in to perspective.good luck to all involved in this devastation and my thoughts are with yous all.