First Time Driving A Lorry Again!

This time next week I’ll have driven a truck again for the first time in 3 and a half years! Thanks to Volvo Trucks and Martin Tomlinson who have invited me to this electric event. I’m neither pro nor against electric, we just have to wait and see how it all pans out, and none of us know yet how that will be. But I’m super excited about trying them out and as title suggests it’ll be first time I’ve driven anything bigger than a van in 3 and a half years! Is it like riding a bike? Will it all just come back to me? Also going to get chance to pilot some things I’ve never done before, like a tridem. All in all it should be a fascinating day and give me lots of information as I want to put electric in a CPC course at some point. Have a good evening all

switchlogic:
Is it like riding a bike? Will it all just come back to me?

Yes, in my experience. I’ve had several spells away from driving trucks in my time, the longest being around two years when my children were born and although I wondered the same thing myself, it came back to me as though I had last driven one yesterday.

Good luck Luke!

As Harry above, I had about 2 years out, in my case driving a desk.
In my case I can confirm I was every bit as crap after the gap as before.

Thank you both. Ah that’s a relief as I was worried I’d struggle. Helps I suppose that first time is off road on a track too. And yeah Franglais being a bit crap at it made me worry I’d be even worse :smiley:

My guess would be first electric lorry in ditch !!

I had around ten year away from artics and within twenty mins if being back in one it was like never being away. Sadly :laughing:

dozy:

He could collect all your ginster pie wrappers and tango bottles, on his way to your place for his steak dinner.

dozy:

People in glass houses and all that.

At least Luke doesn’t have a habit of hitting vans with the back of the trailer …

And he doesn’t blame everything and everybody else for his [zb]ups.