First time (almost) out with a double decker - tips/gotchas?

Due to one of our drivers moving on to pastures new, I’ve had a nice little job dropped into my lap - instead of ■■■■■■■ around getting an 18T rigid into various awkward drops mostly in that there Lunnon, I’ll be spending my morning shuttling trailers between two local depots, then in the afternoon doing a trunk run to another depot that’s an hour away. Just a bit concerned as the trunk run is usually done with a double decker (box body with internal lifting deck, not a curtainsider) and I’ve zero experience of operating such a trailer. I’ve had the five minute “training” to show me how to work the thing, but any tips from regular 'decker drivers?

Advice I was given a long time ago, ’ Tha’ll get the ang’ of it lad" :wink:

Yes ray. Youve had your 5 minute whip tound jobs a good one. Get on with it. Either that set up a body cam and over exaggerate everything you do upload it to youtube and become a proper legend.

If you feel the need to ask on here get yourself back into the office and ask your “gaffer” to explain the buttons to push again.

Not rocket science really.

Last time i used a lift hig deck was over to ireland. Had to reverse the ■■■■■■■ a mile back up the road because of low bridge. Rowley probably seen me doing it from the m6.

try and have it on both sides before you leave the yard.
if it tips,the loaders are to blame,if it wont tip,then crack on regardless.job done.

dieseldog999:
try and have it on both sides before you leave the yard.
if it tips,the loaders are to blame,if it wont tip,then crack on regardless.job done.

Received and understood.

It’s not the driving bit that bothers so much - it’s when I rock up at the other end and come across some blindingly obvious (if you’ve used such a trailer regularly) issue that makes me think “Why didn’t I do X, Y and/or Z?”