First job after my licences

As a newbie class 1 driver, I had more chance getting the opportunity to punch Chris Evans in the face than get straight into a class 1 job with no experience.

I have no experience as a class 2 either, lve managed to find a place willing to let me try.

I’m going to be a driver’s mate for next week in a 7.5 tonne to learn their procedures etc, then the week after, I get the class 2 myself and then hopefully next month I get moved up into class 1.

Gotta start somewhere fella,you can’t expect to join the elite club of class one drivers straight away! :smiley:

As above, but don’t believe you will just be the drivers mate for the first week…
If it was me, I’d be wanting that drivers seat by the second day, as it builds up your experience and confidence, as well as showing your new employer that your keener than the stuff that’s the same colour as the few strands of wispy hair left on that lemon’s head.

And if you see Chris, give him a punch from me! :smiley:

P.S. Sounds like you possibly have a good employer, as they are easing you in gently…

They took on another newbie a few weeks ago who’s in the same boat as me, when I get his class 2 Bedford rascal, he then gets moved into class 1.
There’s a £500 insurance excess we have to sign, but that’s to be expected. The company has a fleet of about 80 lorries, all a mixed bag of makes etc, and the work do is pallets, containers and general haulage. So at least I should learn something.

I shall be counting down the seconds until I’m out of the van. :grimacing:

PandyDandy:
I’m going to be a driver’s mate for next week in a 7.5 tonne to learn their procedures etc, then the week after, I get the class 2 myself and then hopefully next month I get moved up into class 1.

Congrats on the job! Gotta start some where…