First ever Class 1 interview and driving assessment

I’ve been an agency driver for almost 2 years by choice. Happened to see and apply for an advert for an ad hoc/casual Class 1 driver yesterday, which I thought might suit me. With virtually zero Class 1 experience - I mean if I got in one tomorrow, I would count it as my first day - I have only gone and got an interview and driving assessment later this week. Yikes! Must brush up on weekly rest regulations and BLACK and KCALB and not mix them up :laughing:

Good luck!

Does that mean a cleaner job too? Or am I wrong to think you are in a mucky job now?

good luck if you need any refresher just shout on here and im sure someone will help

There is no hiding from the fact that the real-world reversing is often the main issue for those who have passed the test and want to start a job.
Of course coupling and uncoupling is important too. If you get that wrong you can have a runaway trailer, a trailer dropped without legs down or suzies torn off, things like that.

I had faith in you two years ago, I have faith in you now.
You know you can do it.
Was it really two years ago? :open_mouth:

30 years class 1, got assessment failed and ban from all DPD sites nationwide, without even hitting the road.

You’ll be fine.

Just a couple of month ago a fellow driver called me darling for my first time ever, in the very same occasion the same driver just asked me if I could undo the fuel tank cap as it was stiff(-ish). Two very first times in a row.

Huh? What did you do to deserve that?

Good luck I hope it works out well for you, remember on the driving part of the assessment they won’t be looking for perfection just a safe legal drive.

Great news on the assessment. As has already been said, the assessment drive just needs to be steady and safe.