First drive to Europe!

Hi its my first time to this site and have read through a lot of the post and answers and learned a lot of stuff that i never knew ( thanks).

I have been offered a job driving an 18ton rigid to Budapest and I have never driven a large vehicle on euro roads but I am considering this seriously, however i am very unsure on the restictions on roads at the weeekends in some countries, i have checked the route and it says i will drive through France, Belgium, Germany, Austria and then Hungray. Does any one know of these restictions or where i can get the info from?

The Job states setting off on a saturday and reaching destination monday am, so i am really unsure of if this would be possible? :confused:

Also what documents i.e. passport, driving licence would i need to take? And what about the toll roads and truck tax?

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks. :smiley:

Hi Daz, welcome along.

For starters, you can’t drive in either France or Germany on a Sunday (unless the vehicle is exempt, e.g transporting perishable goods), see this site for all European truck bans…

transportsfriend.org/int/bans.html

Have a look in the “stickies” at the top of the TruckNet Euro forum page for info on the docs you will need and loads of other helpful info.

You need road tax in Belgium (the vignette), in Germany (the MAUT), you can buy this virtually everywhere, and you will need to buy a GO-Box for Austria, it’s a bit like a Dart-Tag and you buy it at the border.

Good luck.

The saturday ban for Germany starts at 2400hrs in austria on saturday at 1500hrs
From France,Calais you will proberley get as far as Gieseliwind truckstop, from
there to the austrian border
is about 3.5hrs +/- from suben to WIEN is 3hrs from here to the border at Nicklesdorf
1:5std, now to Budapest will take around 3hrs,
Read the euro stickys as lots of info is posted here which will make things easy to do,
any more questions post away,