First day on agency

Any helpful tips as I start my first day on class 2 tomorrow !! Got a start with an agency so I rang the company who I’m starting with to be told bring a sat nav and be prepared to load your own cages and strap them down … Yikes never loaded a lorry before never mind driven one !!

Best of luck pal, but one question…

What if you don’t own a SatNav? :open_mouth:

I’m no expert in employment law, but I would assume that if the company deem it a requirement for the job, they should provide it.

I know that sounds a bit obstinate of me, but it’s not like they are going to pay to replace it if it gets broken or damaged…

I’m guessing it not a requirement for the regular drivers who know the routes. Fortunately I have borrowed one off a pal

do they have straps at all or do they expect you to bring them as well? :open_mouth:

Make sure you strap the cages really tight.
Remember to do your vehicle checks before taking the vehicle onto the public highway, get the mirrors, seat and controls positioned correctly and let it show on your tacho usually at least 15mins.

I was really nervous when I first started driving after my test in January.
It will take you a lot longer than drivers that do it everyday but don’t worry about that. Take your time and work through what you have to do. If you’re not sure about anything don’t be afraid to ask… Most drivers or transport staff (if they were drivers themselves) are more than happy to help and give advice. It took me ages to do my daily checks initially and six months on it comes more naturally on what I’m looking for. I’m still agency so I drive an array of vehicles every week but it’s great experience. is the sat nav you’ll be using a truck one? If not then make sure you look out for signs on weight/height/width limits. … I got myself a truck sat nav and couldn’t drive without it :-/
Hands down to those who don’t use one. … you’re champions!