First and Possibly last agency job

Hey all.

Well im kinda new to all this agency work and thought why not give it a go.

Anyways long story short, i completed a 4 day C+E job 0700-17.00 and received a grand total of £199. Now dont get me wrong £199 is not to be sniffed at, but i then typed the figure into my ikkle calculator and it started laughing at me. It said to me, ARE YOU [zb] stupid working for under £6 an hour, so my question is: is this the norm?

Yeh… that £199 divide by 4 days = £49.75 per day divide by 10hr shift = £4.975 per hr

OMG

Been working out my hourly on the agency.
Average £8.25…TAKE HOME.

Not bad, after stoppages.

if that’s true speak to your agency about whether they would like you to take them to court…

gov.uk/national-minimum-wage-rates

I assume that was £199 after deductions

peirre:

And if its his first week then tax is probably being deducted at basic rate.

ha ha ha
So in order to earn £25,000 a year assuming they do not pay an increased OT rate you’ll need to work just over 96 hours a week “glad you got your HGV licence ?”

4 x 10 hour shifts = 40 hours
4 x 45 minute deductions = 3 hrs

So 37 hours paid.

37hrs & £7.50ph = £277.50

Assuming you have been taxed at basic rate (tax code BR) your total deductions with NI will have been: £70.44 (according to Listentotaxman.

Leaving you with = £207.06.

So I reckon you were on something like £7.30ph.

Mugs game. Normal? More common than you might think.

On a minimum wage factory job, working a 37 hour week, you would pick up roughly £218. The minimum wage will go up from £6.31 to £6.50 hour in six weeks time.

I have seen class one jobs advertised as little as £7 hour. True they are few and far between, but no idea what would motivate anyone to bother getting a HGV license to end up earning that sort of money.

RCT Legion:
Hey all.