Finding a job in the uk

Hi there!

I’m a 22 year old swede that’s interested in moving abroad to work as a truck driver and get some international experience.
I heard that there’s a big hgv driver shortage in the UK? Is it all lies? :laughing:

Would it be “impossible” for a swede with ~1 years experience of driving tipper trucks (class C) to find a job? I’ve got my C+E drivers license, ADR, forklift, wheel loader, HIAB and of course the swedish equivalent of the CPC. I’ve got no experience of driving with trailers, but during my time in school we drove the 25,25m dolly + trailer combination we use here in Sweden.

If there’s anyone out there that know what companies might take on new drivers - i’d love to know.
Or maybe it’s a lost cause? :stuck_out_tongue:

/Oskar

Very hard getting work in the UK.

Its full of foreigners.

Okay. It’s funny the media says one thing but the reality is totally different :frowning:

That’s a turnip for the books.

oskar113:
Okay. It’s funny the media says one thing but the reality is totally different :frowning:

Don’t worry its a media thing (life lesson - people lie).
In reality they base their logic on the number of vacancies vs the number of drivers but fail to recognise that agencies mess these figures up with phantom vacancies.

However to be fair a swedish female would have no problems finding a position in the UK. Swedish males however not so much but never hurts to try.

Edit: as you have a very good grasp of the english language you should have no issues finding a job.
Come on down.

Hi Oskar.I don’t understand why you would want to go from the relaxed way of driving in Scandinavia to Europé,in particular the UK with all the stress,traffic and regulations.