Finally British history has been completely forgotten

Before the Sheffield United v Manchester City game at Bramhall lane today a lone bugler blew the last post, not as you would imagine being 10 days early for Rememberance.
No, this Last Post was blown for a football player that died the other day.
Nobby Stiles played football for his country he never served his country in any of the armed forces.
Whichever absolute bellend at Sheffield United who authorised this needs to learn his history!
The last post is not to remember sportsmen, it never was and never will be.

Yeah i get that. In no way denigrating Nobbys achievement or sporting prowess The Last Post always was and always will be a military thing played to remember those who made the ultimate sacrifice not to be turned into a “sad tune” to provoke a reaction.

As an ex soldier I want the last post to be personal to me, not shard by the masses. Selfish perhaps, but I don’t care.

the maoster:
The Last Post always was and always will be a military thing played to remember those who made the ultimate sacrifice

+1
Being a military bugle call like Sunset, both rightly used as an analogy for remembrance of casualties going back ages, is a clue.

There’s probably an agenda behind all this which will probably become clearer as time goes on.
Not a word of admonishment at its wrongful use from the PM and HM/HRH Charles.I wonder why. :confused: :open_mouth:

I agree with the o/p on this.
I ain’t ex forces, but I’ve still got a lot of respect for British servicemen killed in battle, for which this gesture and tradition should be exclusive to. :bulb:

I’ve been to the Menin Gate at Ypres (where this is done every night) , like I said I ain’t ex.forces, but even I was moved by it emotionally.

I think maybe even Nobby would be embarrassed by it, but I reckon it was a bad judgement, brought on by the fact there was no crowd,… so no minute’s silence, or minutes applause could be done.