Failed your test? Yep, me too

I recently failed my practical test. Although I got a fair amount of sympathy and encouragement on here I was still pretty dejected. So, I wrote this …

I am a novice where LGV driving is concerned but (trust me on this) I do have a PhD from the University of Hard Knocks. The following is based purely on my own experiences and opinions. If you find it helpful it has been worth my time writing it.

Many of the members of this forum have ‘sat where you are sitting’ — I certainly have. You probably feel dejected or angry or frustrated, or all three. I know I did.

We need to recognise and come to terms with our emotions. No-one gets through life without some failures. And I really do mean NO-ONE. Not Bill Gates, not Barak Obamah, not Einstein — no-one. We are all prone to mistakes. It is just a part of our lives. What comes after depends on how you take them and face them.
Life doesn’t have Winners and Losers. Nor does it have Successful People and Failures. It just has ‘people’, and that includes you and me. Progress is not just about ‘reaching the destination’ it is also about ‘making the journey’.

OK, off the soapbox now. So what sort of thinking do we need here?

1. Keep things in context. It was one small test — and we can take it again.
  2. We came away with the ‘wrong’ piece of paper because we made a few mistakes. (Show me a person who never made a mistake and I will show you a person who never made anything).
  3. The only punishment we get is the punishment we give ourselves.

Fortunately, there is good news and bad news — and we have already had the bad news (we failed a test) so let’s consider the good news.

1. We now know what to expect next time.
  2. The examiner only did what our trainers do: He or she did us a favour by pointing-out some errors and ensured that we are not likely to make the same errors again. He or she did NOT judge US personally.