FAI: Glasgow Bin Lorry Crash

Dunno if anyone else is following, or even just vaguely taking an interest in the Fatal Accident Inquiry surrounding the bin lorry that crashed in Glasgow, but there’s a point/theme that is keeps coming up, and it’s gnawing away at me.

There seems to be this constant focus / suggestion that “someone should have just rammed on the handbrake”. Does anyone else think it’d be an incredibly stupid / dangerous idea to just randomly ram on the handbrake of a loaded truck whilst it’s moving at 20-30mph? Or is it just me?

I’m no expert, and it’s not something I’ve ever actually tried just to see what happens, but I suspect the outcome would also result in death/serious injury - perhaps just to the vehicles crew, but still. Not to mention what could/would happen to the truck/load. I guess the load / type of load is also a factor too.

All for some sort of ‘emergency stop’ button which would quickly bring the vehicle to a (at least semi-controlled) stop, but for me, ramming on the handbrake is not the answer.

Anyone ? :confused:

If I was a part of the bin crew I would have told the others to hang on to something and threw the deadman on. Yes the lorry would have come to a halt and we would have been thrown violently forward but we would have all walked away.

From what I understand the problem was because the crew couldn’t get through the restraint to pull the park brake (rear seats are separate) so basically they were helpless.

Thats only what i’ve heard and i’ve never driven a bin lorry so don’t know the setup in them vehicles.

Chris1207:
Dunno if anyone else is following, or even just vaguely taking an interest in the Fatal Accident Inquiry surrounding the bin lorry that crashed in Glasgow, but there’s a point/theme that is keeps coming up, and it’s gnawing away at me.