Explain this technology

Now ive never heard of this before infact when i hear the women refer to it i always assumed she was talking about those blue things a bit like cameras you see here and there on certain roads. What am i talking about? When the traffic women on the radio says…

Our speed sensors show congestion!!!

The presenter (euan cameroon) on the radio asked what the speed sensors where, the women said they are fitted to every new car and the data goes to traffic scotland.

This sounds too far fetched?

Thats bull.

Its the blue cameras you see on most major roads. They are like Specs cameras but they cant do you for speeding, they just monitor average speeds.

There is also data sent by things like TomToms and built in navi which feeds into the system but that is more a case of the satellite systems tracking how fast a given receiver is moving away from it. As far as I know, and I used to be a new car salesman so I know a lot more than a layman, there is no data on your vehicle being passed and stored wirelessly. Doing so without your express consent or at least a notification of the organisation storing the data and processing it, along with the reason for the processing, would be a breach of the Data Protection Act.

That will teach you for listening to that Real Radio pish! :laughing:

I thought those blue boxes were part of the traffic master system and cars with it fitted ping an ID to each box on a route. Thats how they get an average speed.

The simplest type of speed sensors are the wire loops in the road surface.
Nothing hi-tech, it just records the time it takes a vehicle to get from one side of the loop to the other.

My car and the mrs’s car both bleep when they go path those blue cameras. Renault and Vauxhall can’t explain to me why and I had no idea until now

Martin:
The simplest type of speed sensors are the wire loops in the road surface.