Experienced Canadian Driver Looking to Move to Europe

I am a former Canadian truck driver with experience hauling vans, flatbeds (including coils, machinery & oversize loads), and end-dumps (tippers?) across North America. I lost interest in the NA trucking industry and currently work in the building trades. I was born to Dutch ex-pats, was formerly a citizen of the Netherlands, have visited many times, and have extensive family there. However, I speak only English fluently. I understand that low-wage competition from the Eastern countries and excessive regulation have negatively affected the EU industry, but I would be relocating to the EU for personal reasons, not for love of trucking. That said, I would prefer an opportunity in the trucking industry over an opportunity in the EU building trades.

So, to my questions: does anyone know of NA truckers who’ve moved to the EU industry and their method? Are there good OTR (tramping?) companies that serve the UK, continental Europe, and Scandinavia? I understand that my Canadian ACZ license will not transfer to the EU, but how much training will I require? How much does it cost for the training and fees? Is there a demand for NA truckers in EU and are they welcome by the companies? Do UK companies consider drivers with no right-hand drive experience?

I read in one post that EU drivers can pay a fee for legal assistance from hiring companies to clear the bureaucratic requirements to immigrate to Canada. Do any EU companies provide similar services? What do they cost?

If you can get the visa, finding work shouldn’t be too difficult. As for changing your license, I can’t really comment, but even if you had to fully retrain it would cost £1500-£2000 including CPC (another card to drain money from you).