Ex- Pats Check in part two

Australia calling.
Hello All, I am new to this forum.
Cheers from Sydney Australia.
Peter.

Welcome to TrucknetUK Arkwright… :wink: :wink:

Hope you have fun on the forum mate, and post away to yuor hearts content mate…

Are you a british ex-pat?? where do you originate from??

Hello Andy,thanks for the reply.
I was born in Hull in East Yorkshire,and I have been in Australia since 1969.
I have been back a few times,and I like to keep in touch with the road transport scene in the UK.
I found out about this forum from the URTU “Wheels” magazine which some one sent me.
I never drove for a living in the UK, although my Father did, however, I am employed as a local truck driver here in Sydney.
Cheers for now, Peter.

G’day Arkwright, Peter,

Welcome here, I arrived by the same route ie. ‘Wheels’. Have been a member of the URTU for several years and although I retired last year here in France I kept up the membership downgraded to part-time so I could keep in touch.

Our paths may have crossed as I was in Sydney in about '69. I lived in the Northern Territory where I drove road trains, then travelled by road through SA, Vic, and NSW to QLD, working up through Mackay & Townsville at various jobs and then back to Sydney where I drove a cab for a year. Great memories. Have just re-discovered an old mate from those days via the internet. A lot of time to make up!

Wherabouts are you in Sydney? I lived first in Newtown in a bedsit then got a flat on Ben Buckler at Bondi Beach. Had a brief period in Woolamooloo as well.