ERF / Detroit diesel engine

I have no personal experience of Detroit Diesel engines ,but I believe they were very good and fitted to several ERF`s , has anyone any experiences of operating one of these motors and the sorts of results they produced .

That be the EC127 ,there’s a firm from up nr Llandudno still running one on bulk tipping work .

image.jpg

Would it be the series 60 same as the Foden ,believed to be the first electronic engine ?

I remember Robert Coates at Coregreen cutting them down and up to fit in trailers for export ,I think all the ones he had were green 4*2 units from May be Homebase ?

If you go on my Left-Hand-Drive ERF ECs thread, you’ll see that a lot of the export ECs had Detroits in them. I’ve also got an old article somewhere, which I’ll fish out and scan for you. Robert :slight_smile:

OK, here goes: Robert

Funny how they didn’t call it the EC13 being 12.7 l,ERF must be superstition .

Could be superstition, Dan or just ERF’s usual lack of consistency in coding its models! I notice that Detroit-powered ECs came with ZF synchro boxes from the start, which almost certainly explains away the mystery of LHD ECs never having Twin-splitters, not even the later ■■■■■■■■■■■■■■■ ones! The article also reminds us that the Detroit seems to have been ushered in under the Western Star ownership. I love the reference to not trying to test the Detroit in secret - as if anyone couldn’t tell a Detroit from anything else. Robert :laughing:

If I remember I’ll ask Robert where they were exported to .

Dan Punchard:
If I remember I’ll ask Robert where they were exported to .

The Detroit ones went mostly to Spain and Portugal, I think. Robert

erf_ec127.jpg
ERF EC127 4x2 LHD Olympic NL.jpg

erf-ec127-ddec-detroit-d.jpg

hiya…they must like the Detroits in Italy, Dave pearson had an ex Italian army Diamond T that was fitted with a straight six
two stroke DD it was the normal engine for italian army. DD,s
John

014.JPG

mike thomas: