Equivalent average

So I’ve been looking on Stobarts website (yes I’m desperate) and they’re looking for drivers in my area. Now the hourly rate looks promising £11.60-£12.65 per hour but it says equivalent average. What does that mean?

I have a high degree of scepticism about them because of all the negativity I’ve read on here and I was talking to a colleague who tells me he spoke to them about a C&E job a couple of years ago and the hourly pay was only £7.20 or minimum wage basically. Now I’ve heard Stobarts are one of the bigger firms responsible for driving down wages in the industry but surely they don’t pay that poorly?

Equivalent average - add meal allowance, fuel bonus, turning up bonus etc

In other words, wait till you take a days holiday and they pay you just the original hourly rate.

right so stobarts work out their averages by say you did

55 hours at £8.68 which is £477.7
plus £15 x 5 for meal allowance = £75 tax free
plus nightsout £22.5 x 4 = £90 tax free
so grand total = £642.7 before tax divided by 55 = £11.67 per hour

…So this very “average” looking hourly rate by the end figure actually assumes you’ll be doing Eurotramping, and pulling some tax dodge if you’re not out of the country most of the time?

Thanks guys. Now I know why everybody hates them and why I won’t consider working for them ever again.

It is the only place I’ve ever applied to work, and then withdrawn my application when they asked me to go in on an assessment, and I casually asked what the hourly rate for this actual job I was applying for was… Got told less than nine quid per hour, at which point I realized I’d been taken in by THIS advert, and pulled the plug - before wasting any of my valuable time on attending an assessment when I already hold a C+E licence. :unamused:

Makes you wonder why they earn more after 12 month, I mean a few pennies more.