EPIC Weekend!!!

Hi folks! Where I work is Mon-Fri, a lot of the guys at my work do agency work every other weekend. Don’t really need the money myself, but I’m thinking I could use this to gain valuable experience in other types of vehicles (Instead of just cages, pallets and tail lifts) I’ve all ways fancied doing tippers, bulk or 8x4. Looking through the job centre website, the odd tipper jobs that are advertised through agencies all ask for “Experienced tipper drivers wanted” I have no experience what so ever, - Wouldn’t stop me from applying. What the thing I keep seeing is “Must have EPIC card” So my questions are…

Is a EPIC card for all quarriers, or just Bardon? If just Bardon, would you need a different one to work in a Cemex quarry?

Is it possible I could approach one of these quarries and get the EPIC card, or would I have to be associated with a tipper company?

Is it a expensive qualification? How often does it need re-done 3 years, 5 years?

Do some tipper firms operate with out EPIC cards, as in tipper firms who don’t operate out of quarries?

Again it’s just for the odd Saturday shift, mostly for experience doing something other than up and down on a tail lift. I hear there is going to be some revamp of the M8/M73/M74 coming up soon, so possibly might be a shortage of drivers (as well as DCPC coming into play).

Any info on EPIC cards would be greatly appreciated, as well as info on (or experience working with/for) small tipper companies in the ■■■■■■■■■■■ / Falkirk / Stirling area

Cheers Guys :grimacing: :laughing:

EPIC is valid in all quarries. If you regularly do work on behalf of Bardon/Aggregate Industries, you’ll also need one of their own cards.

Don’t know of any tipper firm who runs out of quarries that take on without the card. You never know when you’ll be asked to produce it. It’s valid for 5 years and now goes towards your DCPC.

HTH