Entering The Fray

Evening all, first time poster, be nice :wink:

So, on Monday I embark on a week of intense Catagory C Driver Training.
Recently passed my theory tests, and I’m about to begin the “fun” side of it all, the driving! Basically, I’m after any pointers as to what to expect, I’m doing a week long course (20 hours) with my Catagory C Driving Test at the end of the week.
At the minute, my feelings are that of excitement, I don’t feel nervous about it all at all. That is, until I sit in my training vehicle for the first time, no doubt! I’ve had no experience of driving a large vehicle on the road. Manoevering a 7.5 tonne Iveco around our works yard and reversing it into our loading bay is all the experience I have had.
I’m training with a very well known company in this area, and I’m sure different places do things in a different way. Just looking to see roughly what I’m to expect on my course, as it really is a journey into the unknown!
Also, a quick question about Initial CPC, basically, can I do this module after I have passed my practical test? Jumping the gun I know, but is it something I HAVE to have before driving our vehicles after I have passed? Obviously I will want to get the CPC done ASAP, especially if I have to have it before I can even get on the road in our vehicles, but it’d just be good to know how the ground treads on that front.

Thanks.

Yep you need your initial cpc before you go out on the road commercially

There will be plenty driving gear changing mirrors mirrors & more mirrors neck could be soar from al the head turning which is normal or & mirrors some reversing

Ask your instructor all the questions as that is what you are paying for dont be afraid you can also ask on here

Relax enjoy or & dont forget the mirrors

Keep your fingers crossed for a good trainer. If you get one not suited to you then it may not be much fun at all. But if you pass at the end then it will have been worth it, however unpleasant the experience.