Enquiries regarding airfreight

Before I begin I won’t go into why I’d like this info at the moment but will explain if it becomes relevant otherwise an already lengthy post will get stupidly long. Nothing untoward just a long story.

I have a few questions as this is an area I have no knowledge on.

Is airfreight work obtained direct or through forwarders mainly?

Is this work “sown up tight” by those already doing it?

Are the rates laughable or above average as a rule?

Is there an under subscribed area of airfreight I.e. Temp controlled (although I’m guessing normal fridge hauliers maybe used) or irregular destinations such as poorly served cargo hubs?

I understand the majority of work is Heathrow, are other hubs worth investigating? We are equidistant between East Mids and Birmingham.

Am I right in thinking a majority of freight is destined for Frankfurt, Schipol, Luxembourg and Charles de Gaulle?

And finally as you can see I have no knowledge if this area, in your opinion is it an area you can get into as a “fresh face” or is it an area which you really need a long standing experience in as a company?

Just to add - no I’m not buying a truck and going on my own. At this moment I’m just getting a few opinions if possible.

Thanks in advance.

Hi! Well cant say annyting about the rates in your country,but here in Sweden there is one Company doing TNT work in Sweden and the continent and they only have polish driver this Days.That says someting about the rates dont you Think…

Reg Danne

Does give an inkling yeah. Thanks for the reply.

Dunno my Daf CF don’t go fast enough to get airborne …

It’s stitched up tighter than a kippers arris I’d say, I wouldn’t waste your time.

I did all the haulage at a steelworks in south wales but if there was a tonne or whatever to go airfreight wasn’t offered it no matter where it was flying to…

You’d only get it subbed as customers have to use government approved firms.