Empty trailer weight

Hi guys. I’m a newbie who’s just taken the CPC with a view to climbing a little further up the ladder at work. :unamused:

I wonder if someone could help settle an argument? We tow 3t diggers around with 26t grab wagons - no problem. However, one of the lads asked whether it would be ok to tow an empty trailer with his lwb Transit. I said it should be ok as long as he didn’t exceed the train weight for the combo (which he’d be nowhere near with an empty trailer). I then referred him to the Transport Manager though as I’m not in a position of authority.

Anyway, it turns out the Tpt Mgr forbade him towing said trailer as “it’s capable of towing a 3t digger” and that’s all that mattered apparently.

Doesn’t quite make sense, but lots of things in this industry have little twists, so I’m not sticking my head above the parapet without checking :laughing: Be grateful if someone who’s been at this long enough to see through the fog better than me could clarify and, if the other guy’s right, point me at the relevant chapter and verse. Can’t see anything that suggests I’m wrong in C&U. Thanks in advance. Mike

Of course you are right, TM is wrong as long as it is, “under the train weight”.

If you were carrying a digger for hire and reward you would be getting into realms of tacho law and the TM is confused about that.

Thats my two’pennorth anyway.

Imagine the bloke who originally built the trailer, could he deliver it to his first customer with a car?

what’s the gross weight of the trailer ?

What sort of brakes does the trailer have ?

**:D :smiley: :smiley: Welcome Scorpion :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:**

one of the lads asked whether it would be ok to tow an empty trailer with his lwb Transit. I said it should be ok as long as he didn’t exceed the train weight for the combo

Is that a B+E licence combo :question:

Thanks for the replies, guys. Nice to know help is out there :slight_smile: