DVLA Medical Team waiting times/Workload

Hello,

i’m just entering the driving world, PCV but eventually HGV i hope. After years spent in steelworks and the like driving all manner of vehicles and plant inc some old seddons used as shunters i have decided that i want to drive for a living.

Luckily i have a very supportive mrs and she has been a real rock of support so far.

so, my 10 penneth regarding DVLA, for what its worth:

I had a period of illness in april this year(well before a career change/suicide was planned) atrial fibrilation, which wasnt too serious but a little scary at the time. Fast forward a few months and i decided to put in for a job on the PCV route and maybe do LGV 2 at alater stage. Having no PCV/HGV licence i had to do the medical to gain my provisional entitlement. I did this and sent the application off, recieved and signed for by DVLA on the 29/8/15. I got a letter dated the 9/9/15 stating that due to my medical information it will be passed to the med team for review. I included a comprehensive amount of documants to state that i was controlled for over 3 months, it wasnt incapacitating and my heart was pumping better that the required amount.

In the mean time i had an interview/driving assement and medical for a bus company who were looking for trainees. having done my application it sstood me in good stead and i was offered a place subject to my licence coming back ok. so i called DVLA on the 23/9/15 and was told they were currently looking at applications from 11/8/15. WHAT■■? i want my start date sorting, i dont have time for these wombles to faff around. My new employer was fine with the waiting but i want to move on!!