Drove a class 1 for the first time on a job :-)

Ey up

Took me ages to get a class 1 but thankfully i got on a job with Moran in Derby yesterday. 15 hour shift.

Couldn’t to the last collection because i ran out of time. Is this okay? or is it bad to not do the job/s you were assigned for the day?

Good thing is, i didn’t hit anything or go over any kerbs even when i was driving through a tight village and city centre in that village. TomTom took me through that village as the normal route was flooded. Was a ball ache and got me fed up because it was killing hours. But as someone said on my previous post, it will take as long as it takes as i’m a new driver.

Bad thing is, my reverse was absolutely diabolical!!! general reversing i’m good at but bay reverse took me 10 shunts with a guide and sad thing is, there was only 1 trailer on one side. If it was trailers on each side… lord help me please! That’s some David Blaine sh*t man! but good thing is i wasn’t nervous or rushing. i was confident but need to learn the angle of approach, when and how much to steer.

Those DAFs man… was always getting an exhaust system malfunction warning and a front sensor warning followed by an engine malfunction. It’s a flippin 69 plate. Constant traction issues as well.

Anyways i feel happy apart from this knbhead shunting Cntinski who i wanted to slap up with his reaction to my reverse attempts. Moving shoulders and nodding his head and asking wth am i doing. Once i parked up i was observing what he was doing (while cursing him of course) and he thinks he’s Lewis Hamilton/Ken Block in the yard with how fast he shunts, talking to every driver like he owns them and bossing people around.

Give new drivers a chance man. Thankfully actual drivers had a bit more patience with me.

Got nothing against shunters of course… i’d like to try it anyway… but it’s just a new drivers report