Driving turning the brain to mush

Does anyone find that after a long day driving their brain has turned to mush? Are there any techniques you use to keep the brain active? Apparantly doing simple sums as fast as you can is one of the best brain exercises.

Has anyone older noticed that their brain has lost it’s sharpness from just sitting there looking through the window for 10 hours a day?

JeffA:
… Has anyone older noticed that their brain has lost it’s sharpness from just sitting there looking through the window for 10 hours a day?

I have, yes! I came to driving quite late - I was 32 when I passed my test and I’ve been doing it for 13 years now. Before starting this job I was a computer programmer in the games industry and had a pretty logical/analytical mind. I have certainly noticed my brain deteriorating over the last decade - my short-term memory in particular! Of course it could be that we’re all getting older, and perhaps it’s a natural part of the aging process?! But somehow I don’t think it is. I am still in contact with people I worked with in the computer industry (who are still doing it) and their brains seem as sharp as ever. :cry:

Listen to radio 4, classical music and read the guardian. From what i have heard the braincell enjoys such musings what what

The short term memory loss is a direct result of sleep depravation. If you’re doing a 15hr duty then the 9hrs you have off doesn’t really give you time to do your personal admin, have something to eat, wind down and get 8hrs sleep.

And how many lorry drivers find it hard to get to sleep because their body clocks are all over the shop due to starting at all times of the day or night?

I think that satnavs are weakening my brain. In the past i would remember for ages, routes which I had done two or three times. But now, brain is just on standby. Wasn’t there a report saying that black cab drivers had enlarged spatial awareness brain regions?

Hippocampus, yes.

sing to yourself,works for me