Driving time tacho error?

Hi I’m fairly new to driving 7.5 tonne grandfather rights and have a question about driving hours.

On several occasions I’ve put my card in at the start of my shift to find that I’ve already done over 2-3 hours driving!

I’ve taken the required daily or weekly rest and not gone over the first 4.5 hours of driving without having at least a 46 minute break the previous shift then maybe driven for 2-3 hours and ejected my card at the end of my shift.

My question is should I change the activity to break before ejecting the card at the end of each shift to clear the 2-3 hours driving I’ve done without having a break:?:

If I’ve done less than 4.5 hours driving in a shift after the first 45 minute break surely I don’t need to clear the driving time by having a 45 minute break before the end of my shift. The only way I can clear the driving time I’ve supposedly done is to have a 45 minute break before the 4.5 hours driving time expires which is crazy because I’ve only done 1.5 hours of driving that shift but shows as 4.5 hours on the tacho :exclamation:

When I downloaded my card at the end of todays’ shift it showed that I had an infringement for insufficient rest from last Friday which I know is false because I took the required 45 minute break after 4 hours and 25 minutes driving. I’ve had at least 45 hours weekly rest between Friday and todays’ shift.

I can’t think of anything I’ve done wrong :confused:

You’ve mentioned Insufficient Rest and then immediately talked about taking a Break after 4h25m driving. Breaks are not Weekly or Daily Rests.

I think your issues are arising because you are failing to account properly for the time off between shifts. How old is the vehicle/tacho you are using? When you put your card in at the start of your shift, are you using the “manual entry” facility to properly record what has happened since you last ejected the card?