Driving over hours?

Hello fellow members
I am new to the digi tacho card as i have drove a paper tacho lorry for many years&i drove a lorry with a digi tacho on Friday&it was coming up to my break when i got stuck in a horrendous traffic jam on the M1 approaching the A38 northbound&was going to stop at the next services to have my break which was only a few miles away but i had to come off at the A38 turn off but that was choca block with traffic trying to get off the M1 to find alternatives routes. The upshot of being in the jam was that i went over my driving time by 15 minutes which i could do nothing about. The details on my printout are as follows. driving 1 hour 31 mins, break 44 minutes, driving 3 hours 13 minutes (driving time 4 hours 44 minutes) break 52 minutes, driving 1 hour 19 minutes. The total driving hours were 6 hours 3 minutes & the total break time was 1 hour 38 minutes but i am concerned about what will happen as i went over my driving hours as it was 4 hours 44 minutes can anybody tell me what the consequences will be please ?

Do a print out, write down the reasons for the late break (traffic delay on M1, stopped at first safe place to do so) hand in to your firm first opportunity. Shame you didn’t take an extra minute at your first break as you’d have been covered. Assuming you haven’t made a habit of this you should get a telling off and that’s it. DVSA won’t be interested in a one off.

Thanks vid, i know i thought i had taken a 45 on my 1st break !

Just do a printout and keep it somewhere safe in your cab or in a plastic wallet, don’t put it in your actual wallet, the ink will rub off. If you do get stopped tell the officer that you went over your time at X place and time and show him the printout. Traffic happens so they would likely let you off but if you are going over every Friday then they won’t be too happy.