Driving in Florida

Hello.

I’m married with a child to an American gal and she wants to move back to the Florida, near Orlando. We have spent a lot of time out there and even got married there in February after being together for 7 years.

We have nearly completed the application for mine and my daughters passports and will be getting them through within the month.

I’ve been driving C+E for just over 2 years now. I know that I’d have to re-take my tests but I have a question…

Will I be taken seriously as a driver with experience due to my UK driving or will I find it hard getting ‘truck’ work due having just passed my licence in the states?

A lot of driving jobs I’ve seen advertised in the states have asked for 1 or 2 years experience. Do you think my UK driving experience will be taken in to account?

I could always find other work I guess but I want to continue driving if possible. I’ll be in no immediate rush to find work when we get there as we have reasonable funds to cover us, but I obviously will need work eventually.

If you has been down this road, please could they let me know how it went for you.

Paul.

you will get a job no problem…be thinking this way though …there are a lot of American trucking companies that are crap to work for…yes I know …in my opinion. Take your time to research who’s who and what they are about…go to the US truknet site and other US forums…this will help you form your own opinion and do your best to get it right first time. Be selective, even arrogant, but don’t sell yourself short.
small and local might work for you to start.

and one last thing Paul, I was reading your thread in the professional drivers forum…never take your fists to a knife fight…never take a knife to a gun fight…the latter seems to apply more here… good luck.

I would think it may help you, as they might like to employ a Limey for novelty value.