driving hours

hi guys how is every one?

i’m a new driver only had my class 2 licence for 6 months and been working for an agency they have put me in a job with a long term contract i’m doing 6 on 2 off not an issue was all good to start with but now I been there a wile this company have started to get me to do reduced daily rest periods I stick to my guns wont go over 2 a week I know I can do 3 but i’m not doing more than 2, I am little confused as to how many hours working and driving I can do the day after a reduced daily rest break if any one can help it would be very helpful

many thanks callum

As you know a reduced daily rest is any reduction from 11 hours down to 9 minimum in a 24 hour period that starts when you start work.

ie you start at 8am on day 1. By 8am on day 2 you must have had at least a 9 hours break. After the break a new working day of 24 hours starts. The amount of hours you can work is governed by the length of the daily rest. 9 hours rest = 24-9 = 15 hour working day.

Keep an eye on the 60 hour WTD limit but where possible use the POA to help.

The length of a working day is not really dependant on the length of the daily rest unless you have used up all the reduced rests.

callum.1:

i’m a new driver only had my class 2 licence for 6 months and been working for an agency they have put me in a job with a long term contract i’m doing 6 on 2 off not an issue was all good to start with but now I been there a wile this company have started to get me to do reduced daily rest periods I stick to my guns wont go over 2 a week I know I can do 3 but i’m not doing more than 2, I am little confused as to how many hours working and driving I can do the day after a reduced daily rest break if any one can help it would be very helpful

many thanks callum

Reduced daily rest periods (where less than 11 hours rest is done within 24 hours from starting a shift) are THREE max between weekly rests and not per fixed week (sunday midnight to sunday midnight)