Driving assessment

Something I have to get off my chest and wondered if anyone else had experienced the same.

Just before last christmas I was working for a company (big blue chip catalogue) in North of England. When you have been there for 3 weeks (nearly all agency drivers) you have to have a driving assessment with a guy who works for the company.
I sat in the canteen on the morning of my assessment, pretty confident because I have been throwing these artics round for 20 years. This guy came in (remain nameless, read on…) and took my licence. He was unsure exactly where to write down my licence number on his assessment form, which immediately got me thinking.

Anyway, we did the checks etc, went out on the road for maybe an hour or so. At the end of the test he didn’t say anything, I was chatting to him all the time. I got a phone call later that day off the agency saying I had failed, they got me work somewhere else straight away.

That was on the Friday morning. This assessor had another one that afternoon and 2 a day for the following week.

He failed the lot. Every one of us. Alarm bells started ringing. I later heard he was dissmissed due to allegations he was taking a bung off a sub contract haulage company (remain nameless) to fail the drivers so the subcontract firm would get more work!! This is still ongoing, action is being taken against the assessor. It turned out this guy was straight out of training course and I was his first one, everything was by the book.

Be careful if you have to have an assessment, this guy failed me for…
I got 7 minors before I left the bloody yard!
The date on my tachograph went over the red dotted line by less than 1mm.
I didn’t check trailer mot plate.
I didn’t check op licence (major blue chip company!!!).
I didn’t check oil, water and windscreen washer level. And so on.

I then got 8 minors for letting the rpm go over the green section on rpm dial.