Driving assessment

Just come of a driving assessment put tacho card in but when I asked him if need to put on rest from when I last inserted my card to when I just put it in he said no I don’t need to, what would it show as for rest from when I last had my card in to when I inserted it today ? Is this normal surely not :s

Horley:
Just come of a driving assessment put tacho card in but when I asked him if need to put on rest from when I last inserted my card to when I just put it in he said no I don’t need to, what would it show as for rest from when I last had my card in to when I inserted it today ? Is this normal surely not :s

I’m not an expert but if you didn’t work from when you last inserted the card then yea, it should be on rest. I’d imagine if you didn’t put it on rest it would of recorded the time between your two card inserts as other work.

Hopefully someone more experienced can give a more definitive answer.

Pull card after doing shift then insert it next time will leave a gap in the records with a ? which is deemed as rest so no need to do anything

Fairly certain that is what I have read on here

Ok so it won’t say I’ve been doing other work , prior to putting in my card today the last time I put my card in was two months ago , I did say to bloke do I need to do a manual entry and he was like know you don’t , just pray it goes down as ?

Horley:

It depends on the age of the tachograph, if it was a type 1 tachograph (early versions 2006-2012) you don’t have to manually record anything for the time the card is out of the tachograph, it will automatically record the time with the ? symbol (unaccounted for time).

However if it was a type 2 tachograph (late 2012 onwards) you should have recorded rest or ? for the time since the card was ejected.