Driving and Delivering around London

Hi all

Newbie here so be gentle haha, I have only been driving Class 1 for a few months and got to say i love my job, it helps that the company I work for are easy going and that i know the Transport Manager and I have two mates who work there too, anyway I have been told I may be sent into London soon as we do that twice a week which involves nights out, to be honest i am quite nervous about it as I have been told it is a different world down there, never even been around there in a car so you can imagine why I am concerned, any advice would be greatly appreciated?

Cheers

Lewy:
Hi all

Newbie here so be gentle haha, I have only been driving Class 1 for a few months and got to say i love my job, it helps that the company I work for are easy going and that i know the Transport Manager and I have two mates who work there too, anyway I have been told I may be sent into London soon as we do that twice a week which involves nights out, to be honest i am quite nervous about it as I have been told it is a different world down there, never even been around there in a car so you can imagine why I am concerned, any advice would be greatly appreciated?

Cheers

I just treat London as a load of small villages linked by road numbers,works for me ,piece of ■■■■,don’t know why drivers sweat on it to be honest.

Try to find as much out about the deliveries as you can before leaving - actual address of good in and one-way streets for example. Get someone who knows, to plan the drops and get a good satnav that will tell you bridge heights and weight limits.

My London technique was to turn off any distractions - music etc and take no interest in anything behind me; beside, (bloody bikes) and in front, but once they are behind they have no effect.

Having said that about stuff behind, be prepared to allow motorbikes through.