Drivers hours!!

As I’m still a fairly newish driver with a job that doesn’t usually take me over my 9 daily hours (sometimes do t even clock up 4.5) I’ve never really had to worry about watching my hours, although sometimes I’m out driving all day. Basically I was just curious about the rest breaks. If I drive for 3 hours then take my 45min break, then drive another 4.5 hours, take a second 45min break would I then be able to drive 2.5 hours or still only the hour for a 10 hour driving day?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes you could drive for 2.5 hrs in the scenario you mentioned.

You can drive the 2.5. Doesn’t matter how it adds up to 10, as long as it doesn’t go over 10 and you’ve not done more than 4.5 without a break your fine.

You could drive for 1.5, 45 break, your reset then, drive for 4 hours, 45 break, you’ve reset yourself again, you can then drive for 4.5 before having to finish for that day.

You can drive upto 10 hours per day regardless of how you spilt your breaks…obviously keeping within the law,so yes you could…you could drive 4.5hrs have 45 break then another 1hr then break then 4.5hrs again.

I did think that would be the case, but just wanted to make sure, there’s so much red tape these days it’s confusing to understand all the do’s and don’ts but thanks for your input [emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You can drive over the 10 hr as long as you write explanation on back of printout

Don’t forget your WTD 6 Hour rule however. You can cover this with your drivers’ hours break, but could slip under the radar if you spend more time doing ‘other work’ than you do driving.

You cannot work for more than 6 accumulative hours without a break. As defined by the Drivers hour’s laws, a break must be at least 15 minutes in length in order to qualify as a break.
If you are to work between 6 – 9 hours, then you must accumulate 30 minutes of break across your shift.