Driver Training vehicle age

Having seen a number of comments on this subject, I am interested to find out what Trainee drivers feel regarding the age of the vehicles we use(yes I am a trainer) :slight_smile: .

Did you train in a new vehicle or one that was maybe 15 years old?? - did it make a difference to you or the result you achieved??

Unfortunately not every training company can or has brand new vehicles( nice logos by the way Peter :smiley: ) but how did it effect your training? - if indeed it did.

I open the floodgates :laughing: :laughing:

Hi. Happy New Year and thanks for the kind comments. Iā€™ve copied this from another thread:

Just want to take the opportunity to clear up the ā€œnew lorryā€ thing. Iā€™d like to give my reasons for running new trucks:

I am not a mechanic - I sleep better with new trucks on the yard
Image - clean and smart
Pleasant learning environment for candidate
Pleasant working environment for instructor (good qualified instructors are not 2 a penny - so we look after them)
Local Iveco dealership open 24/7
Repairs carried out overnight so no disruption to training programme
Maximum utilitisation of vehicles due to above
Fuel economy
Ease of driving - no fishing for gears etc
Uniformity between vehicles - any unlikely swap of vehicle is not traumatic
Predictable operating costs
Companies are happy that their staff will be happy when allocated a new vehicle
Examiners are impressed by a clean, smart vehicle
Protects reputation