Driver shortage

So this is how they are going to get around the so called driver shortage
dailymail.co.uk/news/article … eople.html

Of all my years driving, like lots of others on here, ive paid for everything myself, LGV licence, ADR certificate, CPC courses (biggest farce going), Driver medical, Digi card, the list goes on, and have had nothing for free…whats the old saying…crime DOES pay!

At least they will be qualified to drive the vehicles they hijack.

The article says funding comes from the Royal London Society. All I can find is a Royal London Society for the blind
The last time this idea was floated it was from , I believe, from a Conservative minister.
I approve of steps to re-educate and prepare convicts for a law abiding life
I wonder what the other professions are for which convicts are being prepared.
It doesn’t really do much for our image
I’m not a criminal, I’m a lorry driver
…well, same thing really, innit?

Which jobs do Prison qualifications prepare one for?
Lemme see… A good Phd (‘Porridge - have done’) could well be the only thing getting you into the following jobs nowdays…

Banking
Estate Agents
Used Car Dealers
Consultancies
Media
CEO of any large business
Counsellors

Feel free to add to this list - It’s hardly a complete one. :unamused:

Seems fair to me that prisoners that have a desire to change their ways are given an opportunity to undertake training (of any description) to at least give them some sort of ‘leg up’ when out.

Am sure that Stobrats will snap them up, especially if they photogenic and have a human interest story to boost the ratings of their dreary tv show.

there is a company in northfleet kent who already employ them through this scheme

Timpsons (shoe repairers) recruit from prisons, and on a documentary recently the gaffer was saying that you get people who really want and value a job by doing this.