Driver CPC - Grandfather Rights

I passed my car test in '85 so have C1 and C1+E already on my licence. I also now have provisional C and D.

I believe this means I have grandfather rights for Driver CPC and only have to do the 35 hours periodic training (please correct me if I’m wrong).

Assuming I do, then, hypothetically, if I passed my theory, hazard perception and practical tests for C and C+E today, could I start driving for a living tomorrow? Or will I need to complete my first set of 35 hours periodic CPC before I can drive commercially?

Grovesy:
I passed my car test in '85 so have C1 and C1+E already on my licence. I also now have provisional C and D.

I believe this means I have grandfather rights for Driver CPC and only have to do the 35 hours periodic training (please correct me if I’m wrong).

Assuming I do, then, hypothetically, if I passed my theory, hazard perception and practical tests for C and C+E today, could I start driving for a living tomorrow? Or will I need to complete my first set of 35 hours periodic CPC before I can drive commercially?

35 hours must be completed before you can drive commercially but some LGV trainers have their C and CE course approved for dcpc so you could potentially get all 35 by doing those

For a school that has the courses approved - you have to ask each school …
For a standard 5 day course with test on day 5
1 to 1 half days = 14 dcpc (3.5 x 4 = 14)
2 to 1 full days = 28 dcpc (7 x 4 = 28) as still learning whilst in passenger seat and the other trainee is driving
test time cannot count for dcpc

Make sure you read ALL the stickies near the top of this forum before paying any money

I took this route and got 28 of my 35 hours of CPC via the C and CE tests. My final 7 hours was spent doing a driving hours course.