Driver Agencies

I’ve been using Driver Hire for the last two months. As I’ve been self employed for 10 years I like the idea of job flexibility and (as a new driver, the variety of work types they’ve punted in my direction).
So, I’m not particularly ■■■■■■ off with the fact that the majority of the work has been C1 or sprinter driving. At least all the handball is giving me some exercise. It’s all good experience.
I think it’s about time I started using a tacho regularly but I’m not sure how to approach the agency.
I’m not expecting any class 1 work after a month but should I expect them to be offering me class 2 regularly? Is it an insurance thing, do they consider me a liability or don’t they have the work?
Should I ditch them and find another agency?

I passed my class 2 in July and class 1 in October. I’m based in Doncaster but do commute up to 30 miles depending where they send me. I seem to get about £9.50/hr irrespective of what I drive.

Anyone offer any constructive advice? (or work :wink:

To be blunt, the agency have you down as a wet ■■■■■ who’ll do whatever they ask/instruct! :open_mouth:
So if you’re open to Sprinter VAN work, that’s what they’ll give you…

Sign up with as many blood sucking scumbags as you can mate and place yourself in a better position of power.
Stick with a regular income from your current leech, but say to the new blood suckers that you’re only interested in real HGV work!

I bit the bullet and signed a few agencies .driver hire are the worst .i have had them remove me,they try to really grind you down with crap money and poor job offers .Everything they offered me was vans .yeah right .been there done that
Sack em off pal .

You need to ask the agency if they can put some cat C work your way :bulb:

Approaching them is easy, you just phone them or go and see them and say “any chance of some cat C work ?”, it really is that simple :wink: