Double Decker

Hi guys
Newbie here passed test about 3 1/2 months ago tomorrow night I’m doing trunk run for first time going to PW Gates in Welwyn Garden City.
First time taking a double decker any pointers or things to watch out for? Also any one been to DC that can give advice when I get there.
Any input greatly received

Haters of newbies needn’t reply

Cheers guys

Andy

Everyday is a learning day

Andy1969:
First time taking a double decker any pointers or things to watch out for?

Height markings would be my first guess :smiley:

Andy1969:
Hi guys
Newbie here passed test about 3 1/2 months ago tomorrow night I’m doing trunk run for first time going to PW Gates in Welwyn Garden City.
First time taking a double decker any pointers or things to watch out for? Also any one been to DC that can give advice when I get there.

Cheers guys

Andy

Find out what you need to do with the DD once there.
We have 2 types of DD… one is put on a bay normally; the other needs the lift dropping first and sliding under the bay.
Some places will want you to plug in your Andersen cable so they have power to drop the deck.

Watch your speeds on roundabouts and corners. If loaded between 15 and 20 mph on a roundabout till you get the feel

Oh and make sure you stress its a DD; some places only have designated bays.

Sent from my SM-G981B using Tapatalk

I do DD a lot and as the last reply says careful on bends and roundabouts. Chances are you won’t have loaded it and it could be top heavy.

Check your suspension in the correct height. If like the trailers I pull, they are up to 16’4 and if it’s jacked up at the back it’s possible to hit a motorway bridge.

If you work for a RDC most will give you a route map. Try to stick to it because chances are you will meet a low bridge if you go off route. A bridge height map will be useful just in case you meet a road closure. If you are on a motorway and it’s closed, most diversions will be for velicles up to 16’6 but not always.