Do i make a career change?

hello guys and girls!! just wanted to see what others opinon was. ive been working as a plumber for 9 years next month and am 25yrs old. really fancy a change off career and am thinking off going into driving… the reason for change is the company i work for ive been with since i started still treat me as the boy and put alot off work on me and dont get any extra thanks or help, plus theres not alot out there just as im sure the same for driving. also the ache’s and pains are kicking in. would like to do my class 2 then class 1 after some experience.
thanks for your help :smiley:
si

Hi Si,

You’re right to come and ask the question’s as you MUST do your research into this industry before you spend all that dosh on the licenses. I’m sure you already know that a normal working day is roughly about 12 hours and anything up to 15 usually, while that might sound easy because all your doing is guiding a vehicle then that’s where most people are wrong. You have to think for everyone else, second guess everyone’s every move because the general public just don’t have a scooby when it comes to large vehicles.

Work is very hard to find after passing, I had to wait 4 months for my first start and more often than not your first job will be low wage (£7p/h roughly) up to you to take it but you’d be stupid to refuse it as like I say, you could be waiting months for even the hint of an offer to come through.

Not only that, most of the people on the job are all zombie like, put your trailer on a bay at a Regional Distribution Centre and then you need to hand your keys in to the desk (not allowed to sit in the lorry due to health and safety, moving off the bay while being loaded etc) and all you’ll find in there is drivers who don’t want to talk to you or when they do they spout utter ■■■■■■■■ like “when I was in the SAS…” etc.