Divorce rate among drivers

Recently two other drivers had divorce proceeding started against them bringing the divorce rate to 80% at work (four out of the five drivers employed). All are away all week; two have suggested that the job has been a reason, perhaps not the main but a contributing factor, as to why they are divorced.

So…I wondered, being a married man of three years, whether I should pack it in and get a nine-to-five. Ah, maybe not but I did wonder whether 80% was common across among drivers.

I’ve been through (and am still dealing with the backlash from) one family break-up, and am now happily married. I’ve ticked divorced, even though that’s not strictly true (my ex- and I never married)…but in the context of the question it seems most appropriate.

As for the effects of tramping, I’ve been doing just that for nearly 6 years now. Whether my original family broke apart because of that, I’m not sure…I think it was more a case of there being other problems which the tramping made more obvious rather than it being a direct cause…in other words, we would have split up eventually anyway, being away just got it over with quicker!

On the other hand, I’m stil away all week (when I’m not still off sick thanks to the incompetent bloody NHS… :angry: ), but my current relationship is a strong and happy one. I think it has a lot to do with a) the problems not being there to get magnified and b) the fact that Rikki is a 23 yr veteran himself and so understands that when I go away, it’s not because I don’t want to be with him.